0/6: falling short

On Thursday I took a roundabout 5 hour flight and ended up reading Section 1 – Queer Theories of Clinical Encounters in Sexuality: Psychoanalytic Practice and Queer Theory, and it affected me pretty fucking hardcore I’m ngl.

Un/fortunately I have a fuck tonne of homework to do with the semester closing out, and I really can’t dedicate myself to interrogating the text in the way/s (I think) I’d like to. So inspired in part by also being affected by the music I was listening to while working my way through this text for the first time here’s what I’m going to do: for each chapter I’ve picked 1 quote I’m really dang into, and made a short playlist of 2-5 songs which reflect on my experience in my initial reading and/or my experience in my short rumination/s this weekend and/or my experience with the material/s being offered and/or my experience with someone I associate something in the text with and/or a song I just really dang enjoy that kinda works for the theme.

For anyone who wants to try and go on this musical/quotable adventure with me I’ve got a playlist and a Barthes quote to get things started off:

No “thesis” on the pleasure of the text is possible; barely an inspection (an introspection) that falls short. (34)


Works Cited

Barthes, Roland. The Pleasure of the Text. Trans. Richard Miller. New York: Hill and Wang, 1975. Print.

Want more of these ridiculous playlists?

0/6: falling short //

1/6: identity // 2/6: desire // 3/6: pleasure //

4/6: perversion // 5/6: ethics // 6/6: discourse //

Save

Save

Save

7 thoughts on “0/6: falling short

  1. Pingback: 4/6: perversion – Mx. Moireabh

  2. Pingback: 3/6: pleasure – Mx. Moireabh

  3. Pingback: 2/6: desire – Mx. Moireabh

  4. Pingback: 1/6: identity – Mx. Moireabh

  5. Pingback: 5/6: ethics – Mx. Moireabh

  6. Pingback: 6/6: discourse – Mx. Moireabh

  7. Pingback: #ENGL496 Presentation Post – Mx. Moireabh

Leave a Reply

